top of page
Writer's pictureQueenie Ansin

Lost in Anime: Getting Crazy of Anime


 

“I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from.” – Billy Joel


Ever since quarantine began, people started to do things that they haven’t done in such a long time. Like baking, planting, and a lot more. I, myself, spent my quarantine binge-watching anime. One of the things that really got me hooked on anime is the opening (OP) and ending (ED) songs, from pop to hard rock to alternative rock, etc. It’s all I have been listening to on my playlist and is what made me sane throughout my quarantine.

Whenever I add an anime to my list, it means I also listen to new songs. Anime soundtracks really helped me a lot, still is, when I am in need of motivation I listen to it. Also, research proves that your brain releases dopamine, a "feel-good" neurotransmitter when you listen to music you like. Valorie Salimpoor, a neuroscientist at McGill University, injected eight music-lovers with a radioactive substance that binds to dopamine receptors after they listened to their favorite music. In a PET scan, it showed that large amounts of dopamine were released, which biologically caused the participants to feel emotions like happiness, excitement, and joy. A positron emission tomography, also known as a PET scan, uses radiation to show activity within the body on a cellular level. If you ever need an emotional boost, go listen to your favorite music no matter what language it is.


We don't have to understand the words in order to fall in love with the melody of a song or the voice of the singer. Of course, the lyrics are important too because when I listen to an anime song, I searched for its English translation. But most of the time the melody or voice of the singer is just too enchanting and captivating that will give you goosebumps. Another study says that listening to music you enjoy decreases levels of the stress hormone cortisol in your body, which counteracts the effects of chronic stress. This is an important finding since stress causes 60% of all our illnesses and disease. I know all of us have different tastes when it comes to music but we all feel the same when listening to one. I found myself lost in anime and I don’t want a way out.


How about you? What music do you listen to?


Click the highlighted texts to know more information.


References

  • Chappel, M. M. (n.d.). Scientists find 15 amazing benefits of listening to music. Retrieved from https://bit.ly/37aYVzP.

  • Brazier, Y. (2017, June 23). PET scans: Uses, risks, and procedure. Retrieved from https://bit.ly/2SSToVZ.

4 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page