top of page
Writer's pictureHazel Cabural

Saving the Girl from Across

Updated: Nov 30, 2020


 

Hi, I’m Hazel the author of this blog post, and I am the girl from across. Before I start spilling the tea, I will spill first why I call myself the girl from across. Well, there is nothing much into it, I just call myself the girl from across because I am from Barangay Taboc Norte, Oroquieta City, Misamis Occidental. And Taboc in English means across that is why I am the girl from across.

Hazel Cabural

In this blog post, I will be sharing one of the few experiences that I had that I can never forget because it made me angry and has affected my views or perception of myself and of the people around me. Also, I will be sharing how I have overcome and saved myself from that bad experience that I encountered.


In the year 2018, me, my sister, and my mom spent the summer vacation at my mom's original hometown where we enjoyed every bit of the time we had with our relatives. Everything was going well for me at that time until an argument happened between me and my aunt just right before we are scheduled to go back to our hometown and spend more time as a family together before I go back to my aunt's place and stay there to study for college.


My aunt started the argument. She questioned me out of the blue, why do I still act immaturely even though I am already 18 years old? And not like her when she was my age where she was already very independent and was already applying for a job abroad to help the family. She even told me that I am such a baby because I always stick with my mom.


After what she said to me, I cried so hard and had self - doubt. I was asking myself, am I a disappointment now because I am not like my aunt? Am I wrong? Am I bad? Why would she say that? Why would she think that if you are already 18 it means that you should already know everything and that you don't need any help or guidance from your mom or elders? Am I suppose to think like her and do things like her so that I can be the best? What am I suppose to do? Why can't she just guide and help me instead of belittling me because I am not who she expected me to be? Those questions kept going back and forth in my mind even up to this day that is why I am more hard on myself right now than before.


Those comments shocked me, hurt me, and made me angry because I thought I was doing good as a daughter, sister, and niece. She would even say that I am sweet and that she is proud of me because I do good in school and then suddenly she will say that what I do is not good enough for her. It's so confusing, right?


The argument affected me both in a good way and in a bad way. Bad because I don't see my aunt as my 100% supporter anymore and good because this incident triggered me to do better in all the things that I do.


As years pass by and now that I am already 21, I have now accepted and understood what my aunt was trying to put across to me. (Or maybe I was already mature enough just like what she said, maybe, just maybe hahaha) She may have hit me hard but that hit was helpful. I saved myself from that unintentional mental and emotional attack by reflecting and looking at the bright side. I did not let those hurtful comments destroy the good life that was coming ahead for me, instead, I nourished myself with all the love I had, prayed to God, and told myself that it was just a bad day, not a bad life.


Just to clear the air, I love my aunt. I did not hate her, I was just mad at her.


To all the young adults out there continue to fight in life. Hurdles like bad comments are just part of the game, so don't let it stop you, keep moving forward, and shine as bright as you can.


"Don't let someone else's opinion become your reality." -Les Brown


Click the highlighted texts to know more information.

10 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page