top of page
Writer's pictureQueenie Ansin

Tips on How to Improve Self-esteem: A Young Adult's Perspective


 

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” - Maria Robinson


What is self-esteem? Self-esteem is derived from what you think others “think” of you based on your actions.


Growing up I have always thought so low of myself. I always think that I can’t do the things I love because someone is better than me. I love singing but I don’t sing much before because others are good at it. I have friends who are fit and skinny while I feel like I’m fat. When people tease me that I’m fat, I believe them. When people point out my mistakes, I start to feel bad for myself. I feel like I’m not good enough, I ask myself “What do I have to do to be enough?”


This kind of thinking will ruin you. It did ruin me, but that’s in the past.


As time passes by, I have come to improve my self-esteem. Our self-esteem is vital for us humans. So here are the ways on how I improved my self-esteem.



Learn to appreciate yourself


It is important to appreciate yourself for what you have done without comparing yourself to others. Appreciate even the little things you accomplished, like learning to cook your favorite food or being productive for a day. Sometimes it’s the little things that make you want to live more.


Surround yourself with people who support you


If you are surrounded by negative people, they will bring you down. But if you surround yourself with people who support you, they will lift you. Choose those people who will be there for you through thick and thin. It does not matter even if it’s small, remember quality over quantity.


Make new hobbies


Start doing something else, and get out of your comfort zone. You will never know that you are good at it if you don’t try. Whether you want to go on adventures or go painting it’s up to you. Or you can start watching anime aside from your usual Netflix and chill but remember don’t push yourself if it’s too much.


Believe in yourself


I know it’s hard believing in yourself. But you can do it, we all can do it. You have to believe in yourself because in reality you only have yourself. It’s harsh but it’s the truth, believe in yourself. You can do it.


Handle mistakes and failures in a positive way


We are all human beings, we are bound to make mistakes. Don’t be too hard on yourself, just think positively. Don’t dwell too much on the situation, what’s done is done. If you will overthink, it will drain you. Just look at the bright side in every bad situation that you are going to encounter. Accept your mishandlings because if you don’t start accepting it, it will do you no good.


These are the ways that I did to improve my self-esteem. Even though I still have my moments sometimes, when I remember all these I build up myself again.


Click the highlighted texts to know more information.

7 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page